Solar Electricity

Solar PV arrays on campus

  • CSU has 21 solar arrays across its campuses.
  • During 2021 and 2022, 21 additional solar PV arrays will be added across three CSU campuses.
  • In 2009 Colorado State University installed its first solar PV array in partnership with the Colorado Governor’s Energy Office, an 18.9 kW system. Located on the Engineering Building, overlooking the Lory Student Center plaza, this array was the largest array in the City of Fort Collins at the time.
  • A 5.3 megawatt (5,300 kW), 30-acre solar plant is located at Christman Field on the Foothills Campus (Phase 1 completed, Dec. 2009 and Phase 2 completed, Dec. 2010). The plant provides one-third of the electricity needs of the entire Foothills Campus. This is one of the largest solar PV arrays located on a university campus in the United States.
  • A total of ~1.5 megawatts (1,590 kW) of solar PV are currently located on the rooftops of campus buildings. Buildings hosting solar PV include: Academic Village, Braiden Hall, Behavioral Sciences Building, Edwards Hall, Engineering, Facilities Services North (bike shelter), Lake Street Parking Garage, Lory Student Center, Morgan Library (Study Cube), Parmelee Hall, Powerhouse Energy Campus, Student Recreation Center, Research Innovation Center, Veterinary Teaching Hospital, and The University Center for the Arts. There are also four at arrays at three of CSU’s Branch Stations: Agriculture Research Development and Education Center (ARDEC), Arkansas Valley Research Center, and the Western Colorado Research Center.

Check out a full listing of the solar projects on campus.